Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to the Governors' section

The Governing Body is responsible for the conduct of the School within the broad framework of the Local Education Authority’s policies. It has an important role to play in providing the forum for the discussion of the issues concerning the School, which come from within the School, from the Local Authority or from the Welsh Assembly Government. Our Governors are committed to working with both the Local Authority and WAG to ensure the best learning outcomes for all pupils at Thornhill Primary. This will be achieved by using the Schools' Effectiveness Framework in Wales. The Governing Body also has a significant part to play in developing, with the Headteacher and staff, the aims and objectives of the School and its community, and generally supporting the School’s endeavours. 
Once a  year, the Governing Body will send a formal written report to Parents and this is followed two weeks later by the Governors’ Annual meeting with Parents. A copy of this year's report can be found on the Newsletters' section of this website.


Governing Body, June 2023


Dr S Burgess (Chair) Community Governor

Mr S O'Brien (Vice-chair) LA Governor

Mr A Rayer Community Governor

Mr T Mortlock Parent Governor

Mrs L Farrell Parent Governor

Mrs C Holcombe Teaching Staff Governor

Miss C Price Teaching Staff Governor

Mrs J Brown Non-teacher Staff Governor

Mr P Tucker Head Teacher

Mr M Imperato LA Governor

Vacancy LA Governor

Vacancy Community Governor

Mrs H Price LA Governor

Mr N Francis Parent Governor

Mr W Scott Parent Governor

Mrs K Morse Parent Governor

Vacancy Community Governor




Clerk to Governors: Mrs C Charles c/o Thornhill Primary School, Heol Hir, Thornhill, Cardiff. CF14 9LA